The Westmoreland Coal team accepts the National Coal Award from John T. Ryan award presenter Gord Winkel (right). Jon Benjamin

Rambler Metals, Mosaic and Westmoreland Coal were among the companies to walk away with the top safety honours at the annual CIM Convention in Vancouver last night.

The John T. Ryan awards are sponsored by Mine Safety Appliances Canada and recognize mines with the lowest reportable injury frequency over the year.

This year, Rambler was the winner in the National Metal Category for its operations in Newfoundland and Labrador. The National Select Award went to Mosaic's Esterhazy K1 mine in Saskatchewan. In coal, Westmoreland Coal’s Genesee mine in Alberta won the National Coal Award.

Related: Training is at the heart of Cementation's award-winning employee-first safety culture

The award also recognizes winners in regional categories. Regional Metal awards were handed out to New Gold’s New Afton mine in British Columbia for the west coast; Cameco’s Cigar Lake in Saskatchewan for the Prairies and Territories; and Glencore’s Nickel Rim South mine for the Ontario region.

Regional Select awards were given in three categories, with Goldcorp’s Eleonore mine winning the Quebec and Maritimes region, Mosaic's Esterhazy K2 mine winning the company their second award for the western region, and DeBeers Canada’s Victor diamond mine in Ontario winning the award for the eastern region.

A reportable injury is defined as an injury that results in lost work time or in reassigning the worker to other duties because of the injury. The reportable injury rate is calculated as total reportable injuries multiplied by 200,000 work hours, divided by the total number of hours worked at the operation.